Are all men created equal? Does every vote count? Are you innocent until proven guilty? Do you believe everything the government tells you?

Yes. Yes. Yes. No. are the answers I would be expected to give before reading Lies The Government Told You. But Andrew Napolitano expects his reader to answer No. No. No. No.

No. I don’t believe everything the government tells me. But I have a penchant for conspiracy. Andrew Napolitano does not. He is a former judge.

He may work for Fox News, but that is no reason to not read his book. He articulates 17 lies that he believes are perpetuated by the government, no matter their political stripe. It is a non-partisan look at the Constitution and how the government lies to the American people.

I recommend reading this book, not for agreement or disagreement with his views, but for the perspective of someone who has served as part of the judicial branch of government. He speaks candidly about issues that many people don’t think about. For example, in chapter 3, he explains judicial activism and how it should have no place in a place like the Supreme Court. He does distinguish judicial activism from the task of defining the law, which should and must take place. But I digress.

I found Napolitano to be fairer in his analysis than I expected from a Fox News analyst. I expect this is because he is writing for an audience wider than a traditional TV audience. I also expect it is due to his experience as a judge.

I see this book as a great resource for students of comparative politics. It provides a legal perspective to the politics of government. It provides insight into Judge Napolitano’s views on human freedom. It gives a different view of government than one would expect from one who served in public service.

The policy discussed is also terrific food for thought. If the premise of the title is correct, then it may be time to identify these lies. It may be time to start demanding more of the elected officials who populate the government. It may be time to start asking for more transparency and openness from government. But maybe I dream too much.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

This review is included on the Justice Journey, not for agreement with the views of the author, but for the thought-provoking process. I have found that blind acceptance of my personal views is not consistent with the faith I seek to cultivate. I seek to challenge my views by reading authors of contrary perspective. I can listen to arguments through the filter of my personal views. If necessary, my personal views can change in response to a reasonable argument.

How do you challenge your personal faith?

