This post is part of the secret name read-a-long hosted by Marla Taviano, and coincides with Week 4.

I am a Bible College graduate, majored in Missions. I am an Arts graduate, majored in Human Rights and Political Science. Needless to say, I have a strong interest in the affairs of the world. I like to think of myself as a citizen of the world, not just a citizen of Canada.

Reading the book Your Secret Name by Kary Oberbrunner has been fulfilling for me and immensely frustrating all at the same time. It is fulfilling in that I am realizing that I have been living in the mindset of my secret name already; but frustrating that I haven’t been actively living this out in my life. This is the year that I was making the mindset a part of my daily life, even before reading the book.

A few years ago, I went to a conference where I heard Sammy Rodriguez Jr. speak. I was very happy to find another Pentecostal at a lefty political/religious event. In New Brunswick, most of the Pentecostal I know are conservative and right-wing. So at home, I felt like an odd-ball for my political/religious views. It was nice to realize I was not alone.

Then a year later, my church hosted Sammy for a conference which I helped plan. I made my work schedule fit the conference, so that I could be Sammy’s chauffeur for the weekend. It was a great weekend. Sammy spoke spiritual truths into the lives of the people at the conference. Actually, I should say God spoke spiritual truths into people though his servant, Sammy.

As I drove Sammy to the airport, he started speaking into my life. And little did he know, he was speaking to aspects of my life that had already been confirmed to me. My background in university gave me a strong sense of social justice and had already made Micah 6:8 my life verse. Sammy quoted this verse to me and declared that I am to be a minister of justice for New Brunswick.

And I’ve lived in this mindset, saying I wanted to do more. I was a lot more talk than action until this past year. I’ve started this blog as part of the mandate to minister justice in my part of the world. I have joined my church’s volunteer team, participating in the Fredericton Community Kitchen. I’ve also been involved with a political party, trying to become more actively involved.

I am thinking of ways that I can help raise awareness and ways that I can connect to the world. I am striving to do more than simply talk the talk. I want to walk the walk.

I tell you this to be able to hold myself to account, rather than simply bragging about what I’m doing. I ask you to pray with me that I would be a better doer of the Word, not just a hearer of the Word.

