This is week 7 of your secret name read-a-long hosted by Marla Taviano. I have chosen to answer her questions (in bold) on the two chapters.

Chapter 14

“Satan finds great pleasure in perpetually accusing us before God Almighty. But fortunately for us, Jesus exchanged his life for ours–granting us his innocence in place of our condemnation” (150).

 As it was in Job’s case, so it is with us. I appreciate the innocence given by Jesus’ voluntary sacrifice, his leaving of heaven to suffer as a human, and his giving up his rights as King to return humanity to right relationship to God.

Any accusations been flying your way lately? What verses could you throw in Satan’s face in response?

I’ve been feeling like I’m not good enough. A failure. My resolution this year has been to take a photo a day. Once you miss once, it becomes easier to miss. I’m still focusing on my photography as part of the One Word Challenge.

Though Romans reminds us “There is no one who is righteous, not even one,” Ephesians reminds us that “God, who is rich in mercy, out of the great love with which he loved us 5even when we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ*—by grace you have been saved— 6and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus” We are alive in Jesus.

Chapter 15

 “Every morning I have the option of strapping on my Given Names or walking in my new name” (157). Thoughts?

 Oh, so true. It is the same each morning. Do I choose to get out of bed and face life head-on? Do I choose to get out of the wrong side of the bed and live the grumpies? Or do I choose joy and a good attitude.

I have some inspirational quotes that I have taped to my monitor at work. I call them my daily motivations. A sample of the quotes: “Joy does not simply happen to us. We have to choose joy and keep choosing it every day” Henri Nouwen

 “Although we usually start with ourselves as the center, we eventually come to understand that God is the ultimate focus. The pattern holds true: as we discover who we truly are, we also discover a portion of who he truly is” (163).

 Who has God been to you lately?

I know God is faithful, even when I’m not. I love that. All he asks is that I don’t stay down when I fall. I know God is my provider. He has provided good health, a decent job, the opportunity to worship, among other blessings.

And my question for you:

What blessings are you counting today?

