This is a good feeling for me. I have come to the completion of Your Secret Name by Kary Oberbrunner. I’ve been the type to start books and set them down, never to complete them.

For example I currently have unchristian by David Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons, The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Radical by David Platt and a work of fiction by Clive Cussler all started and hanging close to my bed.

So to finish Your Secret Name and to write a post every week has been a great step for me. thanks Marla for hosting the read-a-along.

Kary does a study of Jacob interspersed with anecdotes of his own life. And I’ve learned much about my own life through the book. It has reinforced in me that my path in life as a seeker of justice and an encourager is the way God wants me to be going.

One of my given names over the years has been procrastinator. And I’m trying to figure out ways to change that. And I’ve been a night owl as well. So the two of these are aspects of my life I want to change. I want to be good about getting things done and I want to be able to do it when I am at my best: the mornings.

I’ve previously worked at a gas station and loved working the morning shift, even on a few hours sleep. And even now, I have an 8 am start on Mondays. I can’t wait until I get more morning starts. But I’m appreciative of my job, in that my manager encourages my development both in the job and in the rest of my life.

