In honour of the founding of NPR 41 years ago today, I thought I would highlight some radio programs/podcasts I enjoy. Only one is heard on NPR, what with me being a Canadian. But I love public radio. Always have and I can thank my Dad for that. Anytime he was driving to work he had CBC Radio on. I worked with him for a few summers and came to love the CBC radio programming. I still listen on occasion, most regularly on Saturdays.

To start, the NPR program I listen to on occasion is On Being, hosted by Krista Tippett. I first listened to this program when it was called Speaking of Faith. On Being “is a spacious conversation — and an evolving media space — about the big questions at the center of human life, from the boldest new science of the human brain to the most ancient traditions of the human spirit” (http://being.publicradio.org/about/). Through interviews, I have heard Desmond Tutu share his life, a scientist share her work with whales, two priests share about the their work as astronomers. I have found these and others to be enlightening listens.

Moving to CBC, my favorite is Spark, hosted by Nora Young. This one is about tech, trends and fresh ideas. From the about page, Spark is “a weekly audio blog of smart and unexpected trendwatching. It’s not just technology for gearheads, it’s about the way technology affects our lives, and the world around us” (http://www.cbc.ca/spark/about-spark/). I enjoy the quirkiness of the host and the fun attitude to a geeky subject.

Both Spark and On Being are pod-casted, which is very nice and convenient to listen to on demand. The next one has not been pod-casted …until now. This is the Age of Persuasion with Terry O’Reilly. The show explores the relationship between ordinary life and how it is affected by marketing. It is played on Thursdays and Saturdays. I catch it Saturdays where my co-workers enjoy the day listening to CBC programming. I don’t mind too much.

The next few programs that I listen to regularly are Catalyst Pod-cast and the Neue Pod-cast. Catalyst is a conference for the Next Generation Christian Leader and Neue is a magazine that discusses ideas shaping the future of the church. Both have exposed me to new ideas about the meaning of church.

What programs do you listen to that expands your view of the world?

