“Dry bones, listen to what the LORD is saying to you, “I, the LORD God, will put breath in you, and once again you will live. I will wrap you with muscles and skin and breathe life into you. Then you will know that I am the LORD.” Ezekiel 37
 
This was an impossible task for Ezekiel. God asked Ezekiel if the valley of dry bones could come alive again. Ezekiel replied that only God knew that. But when given words to say, Ezekiel started speaking, in faith. In faith, he stepped forward to the impossible. Before he finishing speaking, the bones were coming together. The impossible was happening.
 
The prophet does not give us any insight into his state of mind at the time. Did he doubt at that stage of his life? Was he living in a valley or riding a mountaintop? Maybe I’m imposing my own thoughts on this but his answer to the question seems to be of doubt.
 
LORD God, only you can answer that.
 
Can I achieve something great? LORD God, only you can answer that.
 
Can I build travel with no financial resources? LORD God, only you can answer that.
 
Can people be changed by the lessons I have learned? LORD God, only you can answer that.
 
Can I become a professional photographer? LORD God, only you can answer that.

My doubt is not born from lack of ability but lack of trying. Ezekiel stepped forward in faith, even as it seemed impossible. Bones don’t give a visual of life. The God who brought dry bones to life most certainly has my back.

So keep on walking and doing what you’re doing, Doug.

What impossible situation are you facing today. Can I agree with you in faith and prayer?

