This is the valley that I’m walking through
And if fells like forever since
I’ve been close to you
My friends up above me don’t
understand why i struggle like i do
My shadow’s my only,only companion
and at night he leaves too

Down in the valley, dying of thirst
Down in the valley, it seems that I’m at my worst
My consolation is that you baptize this earth
When I’m down in the valley, valleys fill first

Down in this wasteland I miss the
mountaintop view
But it’s here in this valley that
I’m surrounded by you
Though I’m not here by my will
it’s where your view is the most clear
So I’ll stay in this valley it takes 40 years

And it’s like that long Saturday
your death and the rising day
When no one wrote a word,
wondered is this the end
But you were down there in the
well, saving those that fell
Bringing them to the mountain again

-Caedmon’s Call

 

Where do you live? What do you see when you look out your window? Do you have spectacular view looking over the ocean? Or is it a view looking down a valley? Or a concrete jungle? Or trees, as I see?

Reading Mary Kathryn’s post this morning sparked some reflection and reminder of one of my favorite songs by Caedmon’s Call. I love this as it reminds us that living in the valley is normal. Living in the valley, though hard, is where God is to be found. God is in the whisper as Elijah found out.

1 Kings 19:11-13

He said, ‘Go out and stand on the mountain before the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.’ Now there was a great wind, so strong that it was splitting mountains and breaking rocks in pieces before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake; 12and after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire a sound of sheer silence. 13When Elijah heard it, he wrapped his face in his mantle and went out and stood at the entrance of the cave. Then there came a voice to him that said, ‘What are you doing here, Elijah?’

So often we expect God to be in the spectacular and we find him living in the ordinary. Elijah expected God in the splitting wind or the earthquake or the fire, but Elijah found God in the sheer silence, a gentle whisper as some versions say.

I know that I find God in the oddest places, speaking through the most unexpected of persons. And that’s terrific, if only I slow down enough to find him, stop long enough to listen. I try to do so, but there are days I rush frantically and run in circles. I let life get the better of me. Once I realize this, I start paying attention, because God is speaking somewhere, softly and quietly. The loud distractions turn me away from listening, from being in tune.

Do you hike? What is the highest mountain you have climbed? Are you in tune today?

