I was watching TV, and flipped to CNN. Doing this made me aware of the sermon by Charles Worley of Maiden, North Carolina calling on his congregation to not vote for a “baby killer and a homosexual lover.” This was followed by a plan to eliminate homosexual people by segregating male and female behind an electrified fence. He said “feed ‘em, and you know what? In a few years, they’ll die. Do you know why? They can’t reproduce.” Check out a news story about the situation here and an unofficial site using the pastor’s namehere (be careful with clicking links on this site).

Argh!! This annoys me a whole bunch, and on many levels. First, as a Bachelor of Arts graduate with a major in human rights, this pastor has advocated a policy of genocide. Argh!!. Second, as a former pastor, he has made the pulpit a pulpit of hate. Argh!! Third, as a Christian, this pastor is giving the rest of us a bad name.

For me, being a Christian means showing grace and mercy to those around me. I expect the same to be shown to me. So I have put this to practice in my life. I don’t purport to understand why someone is homosexual, in the same way I don’t purport to be perfect. I am a man of imperfection, and I have learned that homosexuals can be more perfect than I am. I’ll leaving the judgement of our imperfection to the maker of the universe.

For me, in the meantime, my job is to love people, for who they are, extending grace and mercy even to those perspective I don’t understand. I think I understand Charles Worley’s perspective of a literal interpretation of Scripture, calling homosexuality a sin. I once believed the literal interpretation of Scripture. It may be that this is correct, but from the Old Testament law that advocated stoning homosexuals to the New Testament maxim to love your neighbour as yourself, I see a change in attitude.

A pastor/writer I respect has posted a call to Charles Worley to repent of his words of hatred and cruelty. I agree with Eugene Cho when he says I. We. Are. Sorry.

